14 Spooky Movies to Watch Before Halloween!

With the month of October just around the corner, I’ve decided to get into the spooky spirit by compiling a list of my favorite supernatural movies. All the films on this list I’ve watched multiple times and recommend to any fan of supernatural content.

I must put in a bit of a disclaimer – while I like to read and research dark and scary things, I tend not to like the usual horror movie. I find them quite dull as the majority of them rest upon lame jump scares – which I feel is sort of an easy cop-out. It scares the audience for a second, just until their brains can register what they are seeing and then they realize it wasn’t that terrifying to begin with.

If I choose to watch a horror film it’s because I find the concept scary and unsettling – for example Sweeney Todd, I find very disturbing and it’s one of the reasons why I decided to include this film on my list. The idea of someone slashing throats and then grinding people into meat to bake into pies only to sell it for others to eat is TRULY HORRIFIC.

The first time I watched the demon barber of Fleet Street’s film, I felt extremely nauseous for hours after it ended. Now that’s what I call a scary film! A fear or unsettling feeling that lasts hours after the film ends instead of a disappointing jump scare where your heart only beats quickly for a few seconds after.

Anyway I digress – this is a list of MY favorite spooky movies and I appreciate that it’s tailored to my own personal taste but I think there is enough variety on this list that there is something for everyone!

So go ahead and take a look at the list below and let me know how many of these Halloween classic films that you’ve seen and which ones are on your TBW (to be watched) list!

In no particular order:

  • The Corpse’s Bride (2005)
  • What We Do In The Shadows (2014)
  • Zombieland (2003)
  • Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975)
  • Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)
  • Underworld (2003)
  • Coraline (2009)
  • Beetlejuice (1988)
  • ParaNorman (2012)
  • Train to Busan (2016)
  • Twilight (2008)
  • Dark Shadows (2012)
  • The Haunted Mansion (2003)
  • Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (2007)

So how many films on this list have you seen? Do you have any other favorites to add? It seems as if I may have a bit of an obsession with Tim Burton films…but it’s hardly my fault that the man is the living embodiment of Halloween.

After tonight I may have one more to add as Zombieland 2 is in theaters now and I’m so excited to see it! Zombie lovers united – let’s get spooky this Halloween season.

5 thoughts on “14 Spooky Movies to Watch Before Halloween!

    1. Oh you have to watch it! I highly recommend it, one of the best zombie films I’ve ever watched. I had a friend who lived in Korea for a bit as well and he travelled on a train to Busan (a route that was quite similar to the one in the film) when he came back home I made him watch the movie and he was unnerved at how eerily similar his journey was – of course without the zombie outbreak!

  1. I think the only films on this list I’ve never seen are ‘Twilight’ and ‘Dark Shadows.’ I LOVE ‘What We Do in the Shadows,’ ‘Zombieland,’ and ‘Train to Busan.’ My all-time favorite movie is actually a Swedish vampire film called ‘Let the Right One In;’ I don’t know if you’ve seen it but if you haven’t you should totally check it out some time. 🙂

    1. I would recommend Dark Shadows as it’s quite funny in parts and it’s just a total Tim Burton film, Twilight is just a guilty pleasure from my teen years. But I haven’t heard of Let the Right One In – I will for sure check it out!

Leave a comment